Hall of Fame & Museum

Become a member of the Harness Racing Museum Hall of Fame. Click here to download a membership form that will help you join. Your donation and support will help the museum to preserve the history of our sport.

2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

Margareta Wallenius-Kleberg

Jules SiegelĀ 

2018 Communicators Hall of Fame Inductees

Carl Becker

Dave Briggs

One cannot pass through the picturesque town of Goshen, N.Y., without feeling the presence of the Standardbred. A former watering hole for weary carriage horses now marks the town square, local businesses commonly feature logos with a horse and high-wheeled sulky, and a scenic and serene half-mile racetrack is situated just off Main Street. Adjacent to that same thoroughfare sits a century-old stable, yet another reminder of Goshen's historic past as the birthplace and epicenter of the Standardbred sport.

In 1951, when Goshen was still the home of the Hambletonian stake, a group of seven visionary horsemen transformed that stable, formerly William H. Cane's Good Time Stable, into what would become the Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame. Stalls were transformed into exhibition areas, hay chutes served as display cases, and harness racing history found its home adjacent to Historic Track. Several additions to the original stable and a multi-million dollar renovation completed in 1998 have made the museum and Hall of Fame a destination for tourists and harness fans from around the world.

The museum's displays trace the entire history of the Standardbred sport from the breed's beginning with the revolutionary sire Messenger, through the rise of such legends as Pop Geers, Dan Patch, Delvin Miller and Billy Haughton, to the momentous career of Moni Maker and today's racing stars. The vibrant and interactive exhibit includes movie theaters, computer databases, a mechanical talking horse, the opportunity to announce a race and bid at a horse auction, and the world's only 3D harness racing simulator which allows visitors to experience the thrill of driving in a harness race.

The museum also houses the Peter D. Haughton Memorial Library, its books, magazines and videos available for research, and an education department which introduces hundreds of schoolchildren, scouts, and 4-Hers to harness racing each year.

In addition to preserving the sport's history, the museum's Hall of Fame honors the people and horses who have contributed significantly to the sport. Hall of Fame inductees are elected by members of the U.S. Harness Writers Association and were first installed in 1961. A life-like statuette of each inductee is displayed in the Hall of Fame.

Since 1995 outstanding horses have been inducted into a special Horse Hall of Fame voted on by the museum's members-and anyone can be a member. Museum members may also nominate men, women, and horses who have died as Immortals of the Hall of Fame. A committee reviews the nominees each year and the final inductees are elected by the museum's board of trustees.

The Communicators Hall of Fame honors communicators who have used their talent to report and document the sport/industry of harness racing. Inductees, elected by U.S. Harness Writers Association members, are honored by caricatures hanging in the Communicators wing of the museum.

Museum president Lawrence S. DeVan and director Janet Terhune work to ensure the Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame continues to "protect the past, support the present and promote the future of the great sport of harness racing."

Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame

The membership of USHWA has elected these leaders in harness racing to the sport's highest honor. The year listed is the year in which the honor was voted and the actual induction took place the following year.

1961 - E. Roland Harriman*, Stephen G. Phillips*
1966 - George Morton Levy*
1967 - Octave Blake*, Lawrence B. Sheppard*, Bion Shively*
1968 - Frank Ervin*, William R. Haughton*, Walter J. Michael*, Delvin G. Miller*
1969 - Stanley F. Dancer*, Thurman Wayne Smart*
1970 - Joseph C. O'Brien*, Harry E. Pownall*, Sanders Russell*
1971 - Ralph N. Baldwin*, John F. Simpson*
1972- Clint Hodgins*
1973- NONE
1974 - Howard Beissinger, Adelbert Cameron*, James J. Dunnigan*, Frederick L. Van Lennep*
1975 - Herve Filion, Elbridge T. Gerry*
1976 - NONE
1977 - Earle B. Avery*
1978 - NONE
1979 - John Chapman*, Robert G. Farrington*, Max C. Hempt*
1980 - Clarence F. Gaines*, A.E. (Ted) Gibbons*, Delmer M. Insko
1981 - Norman O. Woolworth*
1982 - Glen G. Garnsey*
1983 - NONE
1984 - George F. Sholty*
1985 - Carmine Abbatiello, Levi B. Harner*, James M. Lynch*
1986 - William Connors*, James Cruise*, Keith Waples, T.J. (Ted) Zornow*
1987 - Stanley F. Bergstein*, Ernest B. Morris*, Kenneth D. Owen*
1988 - Dunbar Bostwick*, Henry C. Thomson*
1989 - Clinton G. Galbraith, Willliam D. "Buddy" Gilmour*
1990 - John D. Campbell, William A. O'Donnell

1991 - Hugh A. (Andy) Grant Jr.*, Don R. Millar*, Gene Riegle*
1992 - John A. Cashman*, Corwin M. Nixon*, Philip W. Tully*
1993 - Joseph A. DeFrank, John Patterson Sr.*, Edward M. Ryan*, Ron Waples
1994 - Doug Ackerman*, Anthony T. Abbatiello, Elbridge T. Gerry Jr., and Ted Leonard*
1995 - Dr. J. Glen Brown, Jack Kopas, Michel Lachance,
1996 - Dominic H. Frinzi*, George Segal
1997 - William S. Brown*, Ray Remmen and Chuck Sylvester
1998 - NONE
1999 - Guy Antonacci*, Frank Antonacci*
2000 - Vernon Dancer*, Dave Magee
2001 - Jim Dennis*, Harry Harvey*, Catello Manzi
2002 - Jim Doherty*, Berndt Lindstedt, Bob McIntosh
2003 - John Simpson Jr.
2004 - Ron Pierce
2005 - Ron Gurfein, Tom Thomson*
2006 - Jimmy Arthur*, Wally Hennessey, Phil Langley
2007 - Chuck Coon*, Lou Guida*
2008 - Tom Crouch, Alan Leavitt, Tim Rooney
2009 - Hal Jones*, Dave Palone
2010 - Judge Walter Russell*, Jim Simpson
2011 - Jimmy Takter
2012 - Richard Stillings, Bob Quigley
2013 - David Miller, William Weaver*
2014 - Joe M. Thompson
2015 - Charles E. Keller III, Bruce Nickells
2016 - Brian Sears
2017 - Maragareta Wallenius-Kleberg, Jules Siegel

Communicators Hall of Fame

Inductees to the Communicators Hall of Fame have proven themselves worthy of the highest award given in the field of journalism that covers the sport of harness racing. The USHWA membership votes on their induction. The year listed is the year in which the honor was voted and the actual induction took place the following year.

1983 - Edward C. Binneweg*, Ed Keller*, Michael Lee*, Jack Schultz*, Roy Shudt*, Chuck Stokes*
1984 - Lawrence T. Evans*
1985 - Leonard Cohen*, Louis Effrat*
1986 - Stanley F. Bergstein*, James C. Harrison*
1987 - Clyde Hirt*, Thomas F. Shehan*, Robert L. Zellner*
1988 - Mike Cipriani*, John J. Hugerich Jr.*, Anthony W. Sisti*
1989 - Al DeSantis*, Lou Miller*
1990 - William F. Brown Jr.*, Philip A. Pines*
1991 - Robert A. Hackett*, Col. Dave Herman*, Karel (Bud) VanderVeer*
1992 - Allen J. Finkelson*, Joseph H. Goldstein*, George A. Smallsreed*
1993 - Donald P. Evans*, Leslie P. Ford*
1994 - Lew Barasch*, Izzy Katzman*
1995 - Sam Anzalone
1996 - Bowman A. Brown Jr.*
1997 - Marvin Bachrad
1998 - NONE
1999 - Bo Gill*, Ed Reddy*
2000 - John Bradley*, Roger Huston

2001 - Curt Greene*, Ed Palladino
2002 - Bruce Stearns*
2003 - NONE
2004 - Nick Saponara, Tom White
2005 - Jack Ginnetti*, Bill Heller, Ed Keys, Virginia O'Brien*
2006 - Ray Brienza*, Marie Hill*, Dean Hoffman, John Manzi
2007 - Murray Janoff*, Alan Prince*
2008 - John Berry, Leon Zimmerman
2009 - Murray Brown, Jim Moran
2010 - Joe Hartmann*, Gary Seibel
2011 - Jean Emerson, Moira Fanning
2012 - Bob Heyden, Sam McKee*
2013 - Carol Cramer, John Pawlak
2014 - Kathy Parker, Bob Marks
2015 - David Carr, Jerry Connors
2016 - Gordon Waterstone, Steven Wolf
2017 - Carl Becker, Dave Briggs
* Deceased